Marina Murzina

(from the article “Charismatic Thespian”)

Sergey Bezrukov is a rare mix of talent, success and a human normalcy. The youngest laureate of the Government Grant of the Russian Federation and other titles. For example, “Future Star”. Although, why future? Today he is already a real star. It seems that he should start to turn into a bronze figure. Or turn to drunk as a result of his headache from the success “as befits a true Russian Mozart, who does not need Salieri” (quoting V. Shenderovich, his friend). But, alas! He is in good form (premieres in theatre, movies one after another), incredibly industrious, always favourably disposed towards people. At close quarters he gives the impression that he is neither a spoiled public darling who peaked too soon, nor a “young genius” who is missing a few marbles. Always happy, healthy, optimistic and good-mannered…

I am puzzled, what is the source of his energy that is enough for everything and everybody? “Unyielding, overflowing life force” – that describes him precisely. He is not a human, but a perpetual mobile. Non-stop. And his mobility, changeability and inner flexibility dictate the tone of this article. It is impossible to write fundamentally-heavy research (I hope that is still to come). The only possible style is a non-stop monologue-essay. Sergey is not a monument, not a mannequin – he is a kaleidoscope.

He has a light aura. He presents well. At Sergey Bezrukov’s 25th anniversary at the Actor’s House (by the way, Sergey is the only one who was granted permission to celebrate such an early jubilee) Victor Shenderovich said: let him be a genius, but a troll with the face of Nadezhda Konstantinovna Krupskaya (Lenin’s wife), but he is also handsome, simply a love-hero. But a love-hero ought to be thick or talentless – whereas he is clever and reads books. In short, the paradoxes are all around us.

I thought about this paradox when I learned that Sergey read Varlam Shalamov’s “Stories from Kolyma” on his entrance exam at the theatre school. And when I saw him in the role of Esenin where, despite somebody’s statement that his genres are comedy and lyrics only, he was especially convincing in dramatic scenes, without the accordion and chastushki (Russian limericks). He portrays the poet as a simple, wise, quiet and over-tired Russian man. And as a gifted poet – a philosopher stuck in the corner and doomed. Also I was amazed when, in “Krul’” in front of my own eyes, through the tender, immensely charming facade came a real monster-destroyer.

I hope Bezrukov is not going to stay forever “a curly-haired, jumpy, loving boy” despite all the repeated warnings. Still a young man and luckily (or unluckily for a person and an actor) without experience of hardship and suffering (at least, as far as I know), he can show not only his heroes’ talents, rich souls and revelry, but also “life on the edge”, strain and craziness like in “Psikh”. The death of a human soul like in “Krul’”. Or the closeness of death – like in “The Last Ones Standing”. It means he has the ability to dive and can go to such depths that are dangerous to even get close to, albeit very attractive – they can suck you in…

I believe that there are some mystical things in the acting profession even, one could say, dangerously mystical. For example, out of prejudice some actors are afraid to play madness or death. Suicide. Bezrukov plays exactly these things. His heroes – Alexander (Psikh, a.k.a. Just Looney), Esenin (although the actor is convinced that it was a murder, not suicide). And in the play based on Dostoevsky’s “Bobok” Bezrukov even lies down… in the coffin. Not everybody dares take risks, letting the high voltage emotional current and energy go through him or her. Looks like he is able to do that. Not everybody can construct that inner protection and defence using essentially simple methods of pure craftsmanship. It seems he can, but not always. Therefore I sometimes fear for him with that clear soul and no trace of craziness. What did Esenin write? “If you touch the passion in a human, of course, you cannot find the truth…” I think Sergey has lots of passion. Passion is a bottomless pit. And he wants to play Rogozhin, Dmitry Karamazov and Hamlet. He prefers it that way – to reach such depths in himself and awaken those passions…

…While I was preparing this article, just out of curiosity I questioned my colleagues, critics and journalists (mainly women): “Who for you is Sergey Bezrukov, the actor?” The replies were amazingly uniform: charisma, charm. Although, some called him “earnest” (i.e. concocted, extraordinary, known to wear a mask in public), some – “crafty”, others – specifically possessing a “frozen smile”. Overall, “unique and penetrating”. T. K. Shakh-Azizova drew the bottom line: ”I have grown accustomed to his charms”. And this is dangerous for an actor because it breeds “cliches”. However, it seems that an actor cannot exist without charisma – one needs something positive, like Bezrukov’s charms. An actor cannot exist without a mysterious mesmerising of the audience. But Bezrukov is too open to be enigmatic. Or is it just an illusion?

While still a student he played Hamlet, Khlestakov, Samozvanets (Impostor), Pushkin, Count Myshkin… and “vaudevillian” Golokhvastov (“After Two Rabbits”) with glued eyelashes and a guitar. He was talked about early. When he was just 16 he admitted to liking kissing in his acting. And today, after the performances, – he is all covered in fans’ lipstick: ”How can I refuse them?” He eagerly agreed to take on different roles as if from the beginning he wished to avoid the type-casting he might possibly be forced into later (which proved to be true ). Such a dear, a charmer, an angel, straight-forward fellow, “Little Prince” or “Prince in jeans”…
In one newspaper’s interview with him I’ve read: “Bezrukov ruled the stage. I was overcome with delight”. By the way, those are the words of a well-known critic, a mature woman. Such adoration I would not wish upon anyone, not only Sergey but even my enemies. I purposely exaggerate here, adding a bit, and perhaps making up a psychological portrait of an actor, not theatrical review. For those who have not seen Bezrukov on stage yet, I suggest you just go and watch him. Or read a bunch of newspaper’s articles and reviews. A few quotes, i.e. Bezrukov in the mirror of the media. At first – epithets: “one who swallowed an atom of sun”, “venturesome, heated, temperamental”, “charismatic actor, game-player”. He is “an artist capable of turning any text, even the most trite, into words full of true feelings”. ”Excellent abilities, rare luck. Dear Lord, please do not let him lose his head!” (The last passage is repeated in many discussions about him).
“Divine being of perfect proportions, not too grand, not too small. One man band. One who loves others less than they love him. Werewolf. A man born to seduce and to make others fall in love with him.” No, no it’s not about Sergey. It is about his hero, Felix Krul’. It happens sometimes that the critics start to identify an actor with his roles and it is especially true about Krul’ and Glumov. By the way, about Glumov: “A child, sensitive, inexperienced, naive, not a cynic, gaining sympathy and affection“, “charming young man”. More about him: “In this role Bezrukov is forced to play the antithesis of himself; “becoming a scoundrel” is not easy for him, it is torturous”. On the other hand some may see in his Glumov “Gogol-Bulkagov’s diabolism”, “an evil spirit, an immoral irresistable scoundrel”, “charming evil-doer”, “little imp”.

They see “phenomenal organic wholesomeness” and “crazy energy” in him. He is “lovely, moving, romantic – the last romantic of the current theatre stage”. No-one calls him “sex-symbol”, thank God! Quite the opposite – “do not want to say that Bezrukov is a sex-symbol of the Moscow theatrical stage”.
Judging by interviews, Bezrukov for some reason is sincerely convinced that he has detractors. First of all, I think he is mistaken. Besides, you cannot live without criticism. A famous name said: “I am not a 10-ruble banknote to be loved by everyone”. And as for detractors… It is said that a talented person always has detractors… It is, if you wish, further proof of talent. However, I wish this rule (that every Mozart has his Salieri) applied to real life rather than an artistic career, and would make an exception for Sergey.
Overall impression – an all-around success, good luck, praise. Sergey is now “a symbol of the new generation”, and “the victor” – from the same name movie (although his hero just wants to live well and, to achieve this, he does mean things – another Glumov)…

Perhaps Bezrukov is a wee bit sentimental. Some do not like the fact that he often, easily (judging by the looks of it) cries onstage. Bezrukov says: “You ought to cry more, then you would live longer”. At a tender age he played in “Alen’ky Zvetochek” (“Beauty and the Beast”). In school he directed a fairy-tale “Geese-Swans”. He cried in the “Bandits”. He is jealous – he admits it. He loves the stage as if it were a woman. He loves women as women. His favourite actor (in addition to the named, mentioned in the interviews) – Marcello Mastroianni. He grew up at his grandma’s place on the Volga river. He likes drawing and fishing: “Take my word, I cannot live without the Volga. I must at least once a year walk barefoot on the grass”. He graduated from the guitar class in music school, writes songs, plays accordion (which he learned for his performance in Esenin”), flute, balalaika. He can dance and tap-dance.

Perhaps he could successfully play Ostap Bender, the great adventurer and actor, just allowing others to “evaluate the beauty of the game”, as another Bezrukov’s favourite actor, Andrei Mironov sang in the role of Bender.

Bezrukov does not get carried away by pretence … he is not affected or poisoned by it, although sometimes it seems so. Once during the performance of the “Every Wise Man Stumbles” the electricity was cut off. He (Sergey) was quick to react: “My eyes cannot see, please bring the candles!” The show went on. He is professionally thrifty in the best sense of the word. His inner computer works well.

What would I not wish for him? To become a pop-culture idol, to find his “main” glory outside the theatre…
Almost every role brings a prize. “Moscow debut” awarded him for playing Petr in “The Last Ones Standing”. “Constellation-94” was awarded for his debut in cinema (“Nocturne for Drum and Motorcycle”) – “For youth, actor’s charm and ingenuousness”. Twice he received the top awards of the All-Russian (Reciters, Reading , Declamation) Contest in the name of Vladimir Yakhontov. He had become the Laureate of the Presidential Stipendium while studying in the MAT School, but he received his money in full after the graduation. Here is another dangerous temptation: to become an everybody’s favourite, an “A-student” and to expect continuous praise from critics and fans after all your work.

The actor about himself: “ I am by nature Harlequin. I have loved to make faces since I was a child”. The Italians who saw his Harlequin in “Farewell… and Applaud!” said that they would take him at Comedia del Arte with open arms. About his Harlequin: “He is just like a bright rubber ball, it is difficult to see his real face”. Onstage he can be a clown or buffoon, a trickster-magician and such a mass-entertainer. But I am convinced that he is not meant for that. He can mix the genres. In his play “the tragical farce is possible”.
“It would be better for a while to be unrecognised, unacknowledged ” – some critics are of this opinion. And then add “for him”. And even better – to fight the habit of “making eyes at the audience”, being coquettish with the public – the same can be said about his hero, Harlequin. Truth be told, I have not noticed it.

Марина Мурзина



В Сергее Безрукове редкое сочетание таланта, успеха и человеческой нормальности. Самый молодой лауреат Государственной премии РФ и других наград. Например — «Будущий кумир». Хотя почему же «будущий»? Он уже сегодня кумир настоящий. Казалось бы, должен начать потихоньку «бронзоветь». Или спиваться в связи с головокружением от успехов, «как и положено истинно российскому Моцарту, не нуждающемуся в Сальери» (цитирую В. Шендеровича, его друга). Так нет же! Он в отличной форме (премьеры, кинокартины одна за другой), невероятно трудолюбив, неизменно благорасположен к людям и при ближайшем знакомстве совершенно не похож на скороспело заматеревшего, заласканного любимца публики. И на «юного гения» с непременно «съехавшей» крышей тоже. Весел, здоров, улыбчив, хорошо воспитан…

…Я вообще удивляюсь, как его энергии и доброжелательности на все и на всех хватает. «Упорная, бьющая через край жизненная сила» — очень точно о нем сказано. Не человек — перпетуум-мобиле. Нон-стоп. И эта его мобильность, переменчивость, внутренняя подвижность диктует мне особый жанр этих заметок о нем. Невозможно писать фундаментально-тяжеловесное «исследование» (таковы, надеюсь, впереди). Возможен такой вот монолог-эссе в стиле нон-стоп. Сергей — не монумент и не манекен. Он — калейдоскоп.

У него светлая аура. Благополучный вид. Как сказал Виктор Шендерович на праздновании двадцатипятилетия Безрукова в Доме актера (а Сергей единственный удостоился в нем столь раннего юбилея): пусть был бы он гениален, но при этом карлик с лицом Надежды Константиновны Крупской, а он еще и хорош собой, просто герой-любовник. Но герою-любовнику положено быть глупцом или бездарью, а он еще и умен, и книжки читает. Словом, сплошные парадоксы.

Об этой его парадоксальности я подумала, когда узнала, что на вступительных экзаменах Сергей читал Варлама Шаламова, из «Колымских рассказов». И когда увидела его в роли Есенина, где он (вопреки мнению некоторых, что его жанр — — комедия и лирика) оказался особенно убедителен в драматических сценах, без гармошки и частушек. Где он играет поэта простым, мудрым, тихим, безмерно усталым русским мужиком. И — философствующим, загнанным в тупик, обреченным, безмерно талантливым поэтом. И еще — изумилась, когда на моих глазах в роли Круля в нем, сквозь нежную и безмерно обаятельную наружность проступил монстр-разрушитель.

Безрукову, несмотря на все чаще высказываемые опасения, надеюсь, не грозит остаться навек «мальчиком резвым, кудрявым, влюбленным». Он в свои юные лета и при отсутствии, к счастью (или к сожалению для человека и актера), жизненного опыта беды, страданий (насколько мне, по крайней мере, известно) умеет играть в своих персонажах не только талант, широту души и тот разгул, о котором говорил, но и жизнь «на грани», надрыв, безумие, как в «Психе». Душевную гибель человека, как в «Круле». Или близость ее — как в «Последних». А значит — — ему дано погружаться в бездны, даже приближение к которым опасно, хоть и притягательно — могут и затянуть…

…Я верю, что в актерстве есть вещи мистические, даже, скажем так, опасно мистические. Например, иные из суеверия опасаются изображать безумие и смерть. Самоубийство. Безруков как раз это и играет. Его герои — Александр («Псих»), Есенин (хоть актер и уверен, что поэта убили). А в инсценировке рассказа Достоевского «Бобок» Безруков и вовсе находится… в гробу. Не всем актерам дано так опасно рисковать, пропускать через себя высокое напряжение, эмоциональный ток, энергетику. Ему, похоже, дано. Не все умеют при этом «выставлять» внутреннюю защиту, пользуясь нехитрыми, в сущности, «бронежилетами» приемами чистого ремесла. Он, похоже, умеет, но не всегда. И потому мне иногда вдруг становится за него, такого душевно ясного, без «безуминки», боязно. Как у Есенина? «Если тронуть страсти в человеке, то, конечно, правды не найдешь…» Страстей в нем, думаю, хватает. Страсти — это бездна. А он (см. выше) хочет играть Рогожина, Митю Карамазова, Гамлета. То есть предпочитает именно этот путь — эти бездны в себе открывать и эти страсти бередить…

…Готовясь к этой статье, провела из любопытства небольшой опрос среди своих коллег, критиков и журналистов (в основном дам): «Что для вас актер Безруков?» Ответ был на удивление одинаков: обаяние. Правда, одни его называли «старательным» (то есть деланным, своеобразной, привычной публике маской, прилипшей к лицу), другие «коварным», третьи фирменным, безруковским («фирменная, несколько застывшая улыбка»). А в общем — «уникальным и бронебойным». Т. К. Шах-Азизова подытожила, как отрезала: «К его обаянию мы уже привыкли». А вот это для актера опасно. Потому что рождает штампы. Хотя, казалось бы, без обаяния актера и быть не может, тем более без обаяния положительного, такого, как у Безрукова. И еще — без тайны, завораживающей, рождающей чувство гипноза. Но для этого Безруков слишком открыт. Или это лишь кажется?

В студенческие годы он играл Гамлета, Хлестакова, Самозванца, Пушкина, князя Мышкина… И «опереточного» Голохвастова («За двумя зайцами») с наклеенными ресницами и с гитарой. О нем рано заговорили. Тогда, в шестнадцать лет, он, по его публичному признанию, очень любил целоваться в отрывках. И сегодня, после спектаклей, — весь в помаде поклонниц: «Ну как им отказать?» Он брался за все, как будто бы с самого начала стремясь разрушить то амплуа, которое (как впоследствии и оказалось) ему, возможно, станут навязывать: этакий душка, обаяшка, ангел, рубаха-парень, «маленький принц» или «принц в джинсах»…

В одном газетном интервью с ним читаю: «Безруков царил на сцене. Я млела». Пишет, между прочим, известная критикесса преклонных годов. Вот этого «мления» по отношению к Сергею я бы не пожелала не только ему — врагу. Я здесь намеренно набрасываю, сочиняю, а быть может, во многом и додумываю, и выдумываю скорее психологический портрет актера, нежели театроведческий. Для того чтобы представить себе Безрукова на сцене, достаточно просто посмотреть, кто не видел, его спектакли или перечитать кипу газетных статей-рецензий. Для тех, кто интересуется ими, — некоторые цитаты. Безруков в зеркале критики. Сначала — эпитеты: «проглотивший атом солнца», «азартный, темпераментный», «обаятельный лицедей, игрок». Он — «артист, способный любой, даже самый банальный, текст наполнить подлинностью чувств». «Отличные данные, редкое везение. Дай Бог, чтобы не закружилась голова!» (Последний пассаж — частая тема в рассуждениях о нем.)

«Элегантное божество пропорционального сложения, не слишком велик, не слишком мал. Человек-аттракцион. Любит других гораздо меньше, чем любят его. Оборотень. Человек, рожденный обольщать и влюблять». Нет-нет, это уже не о нем. Это — о его герое, Феликсе Круле. Бывает, критики начинают отождествлять актера и его персонажей, и особенно это касается Круля и Глумова. Кстати, о Глумове: «Дитя, чувствительный, неопытный, наивный, без цинизма, вызывающий сочувствие и симпатию», «очаровательный молодой человек». И еще о нем же: «В этой роли Безруков вынужден ломать себя, мучительное „опод-ление“ ему пока не удается». Но иные, напротив, видят в его Глумове «гоголевско-булгаковскую дьяволиаду», «мелкого беса, аморального неотразимого пройдоху», «очаровательную бестию», «маленького демона».

В нем видят «феноменальную органичность» и «сумасшедшую энергетику». Он «прелестен, трогателен, романтичен „последний романтик нынешней сцены“». Секс-символом, слава Богу, не называют. Напротив — «не хочется говорить, что Безруков — секс-символ московской сцены».

Безруков, судя по интервью, почему-то искренне убежден, что у него есть недоброжелатели. Думаю, во-первых, он не прав. А вот без критики — тоже нельзя. Сказал же классик: «Я не червонец, чтобы всем нравиться». А недоброжелатели… У талантливого человека, считается, они обязательно должны быть. Как еще одно весомое доказательство его таланта. Впрочем, хотелось бы, чтобы эта закономерность (каждому Моцарту свой Сальери), скорее жизненная, житейская, нежели творческая, актера миновала.

Общее же ощущение — сплошные удачи, успех, похвалы. Сергей — уже и «символ нового поколения», и «победитель» — по одноименному названию фильма, где он снимался (хотя там герой хочет всего лишь элементарно хорошо жить и ради этого идет на подлости — тот же Глумов)…

…Наверное, Безруков чуточку сентиментален. Кому-то не нравится, что он часто и легко (по внешнему восприятию) плачет на сцене. Сам Безруков говорит: «Надо больше плакать, тогда жить будешь дольше». Он играл в нежном возрасте в «Аленьком цветочке». Ставил в школе сказку «Гуси-лебеди». Плакал на спектакле «Разбойники». Он ревнив: сам признавался. Сцену любит, как женщину. Женщин просто как женщин. Любимый его актер (плюс к названным в интервью) — Мастроянни. Вырос у бабушки на Волге. Любит рисовать и рыбачить: «Без Волги я, честное слово, жить не могу. Хотя бы раз в год должен походить босиком по траве». Окончил музыкальную школу по классу гитары, сочиняет песни, играет на гармошке (специально научился для роли Есенина), флейте, балалайке. Лихо пляшет, отбивает чечетку.

Быть может, он здорово сыграл бы Остапа Бендера. Великого игрока и лицедея. Чтобы «оценили красоту игры», как пел в этой роли еще один безруковский кумир Андрей Миронов.

Безрукова стихия игры не захлестывает, не дурманит, хотя временами кажется, что это так. Во время спектакля по пьесе Островского «На всякого мудреца довольно простоты» однажды вырубился свет. Он тут же нашелся: «У меня в глазах темно, подайте свечи!» Спектакль доиграли. Он профессионально, по-хорошему расчетлив. Внутренний «компьютер» срабатывает.

Чего бы я ему не пожелала? Стать идолом поп-культуры, обрести «главную» свою славу вне театра…

У него что ни роль — то приз. «Московские дебюты» наградили за Петра в «Последних». «Созвездие-94» одарило за дебют в кино («Ноктюрн для барабана и мотоцикла») — «за молодость, актерское обаяние и непосредственность». Он дважды победитель Всероссийского конкурса чтецов имени Владимира Яхонтова. Стал лауреатом президентской премии еще во время учебы в Школе-студии МХАТа, но деньги получил все сполна лишь после ее окончания. Вот и еще одна опасность стать вечным любимчиком, «отличником» и ожидать после всех своих работ сплошную восторженно-умиленную оду критиков и почитательниц.

Сам актер считает: «По натуре я — Арлекин. С детства любил кривляться». Итальянцы, видевшие его в «Прощайте… и рукоплещите!» в роли Арлекина, сказали, что охотно приняли бы его в труппу комедии дель арте. О его Арлекине писали: «Он — ну просто яркий резиновый мячик, в нем трудно угадать подлинное лицо». На сцене он может быть шутом, трюкачом и эдаким массовиком-затейником. Но, убеждена, не в этом его суть. Он умеет играть смещение жанров. В его игре -«возможен трагический балаган».

«Лучше бы ему какое-то время было еще побыть непризнанным», — считают некоторые критики. И добавляют «для него». И еще лучше — бороться с привычкой «стрелять глазами в публику» и кокетничать с ней: то же самое советуют и его герою — Арлекину. Лично я, правда, этого не заметила…

(из статьи «Обаятельный лицедей»)